A History of the
ACS Portland Section
Student Scholarships

1968 - Our Executive Committee decided that each year the Section should recognize outstanding junior chemistry majors resident in the local area, and attending colleges and universities within the area of the Portland Section by scholarship awards to support their senior year studies at these institutions.  Pre-medical students were explicitly excluded from Scholarship consideration.  Scholarship candidacy is established by chemistry department nomination, and evaluated by the Section's Scholarship Committee. The first scholarship was awarded to Loren Brown of the University of Portland. This $500 scholarship, the Sherman Schaffer Award (SSA), was named after Sherman Schaffer, an ACS National Office functionary who was instrumental in helping Harold Zeh, Father James Anderson, Dick van Santen, and other Portland chemists to realize their dream of establishing an ACS local Section in the Portland area. This dream had been realized in 1961.
1971 - An additional scholarship, the Portland Section Award (PSA), was established. The two scholarships each amounted to $750.
1977 - The name of the PSA was changed to the Harold Zeh Award (HZA).
1985 - The name of the SSA was changed to the James Anderson Award (JAA).
1988 - A third Section scholarship, the Richard van Santen Award (DVSA), was established fully endowed by an exceedingly generous gift to the Section from its namesake.
1990-present - Generous donations to the endowment for the Harold Zeh Award came from the following Section members, former Scholarship winners and companies (THANK YOU!):

Jeff Altig
Ron Giuntoli
Allyn Rieke
Herman Amberg
Arthur Glasfeld
Norman Rose
Robert Anholt (SSA '78)
Floyd Hand
Nigel Sanders (PSA '73)
Anonymous (1)
Deborah Hankins (PSA '72)
Daniel Schafer
Ronda and Ray Bard
Lumas Helaire
Chet Schink
Bernadine Bonn (SSA '78)
Angela Hoffman
Ken Schriver (HZA '84)
Dale Braden
Richard Hutchens
Prad Shah
Rod Christiansen
Maxine Hutchin
Joe Shields
Keith Claycomb
Kenneth Klarquist
Alan Shusterman
Brian Cone
Megan Lerchen (HZA '85)
Audrey Sinner
Neal Cox
Lionel Livermore
Anton Skaugset
Marshall Cronyn
Raymond Lutz
Gordon B. Skinner
Martha Dibblee
Jim Manual
Hal Smith
Arleigh Dodson
Solomon Marmor
Elaine Spencer
Tom Dunne
Pat McDougal
Michael Sprinker
Allen Erickson
Mollie Miles
Bill Stein
Jeff Fahey
Thomas Miles
Loren Studer
Eugene Farley
Minerals Technologies, Inc.
Paul Sunset
Jim Ferguson
Mount Hood Chemical
Robin Terjeson
Julie Fry
Thomas O. Munson
Bill Thoma
Jim Frye
Oliver D. Olson
Steven A. Ullrich
Gary Gard
Dave Pearson
Storrs Waterman
Rusty Garrison
Bill Peslak
Evan T. Williams
Daniel P. Gerrity
Pfizer, Inc.
W. Kelly Woods
Maggie Geselbracht
Bill Randall
Phyllis Zeh

2014 - A generous donation in 2014 was received from the Estate of Phyllis Zeh. During the 50-year period from 1968 through 2018, 133 outstanding chemistry majors have received scholarships from the Section for an aggregate value of over $200,000. Should you be so inclined to help increase the endowment for the Awards, you may send your tax-deductible donation check made payable to ACS Portland Section, and send it to:

ACS Portland Section
PO Box 1741
Portland, OR 97207-1741

The Portland Section ACS is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.